LandWorks Exhibition: 1969 > 2019

Map Unavailable

Date & Time

Date: Friday, June 28th, 2019 - Sunday, July 14th, 2019

Time: All Day

Ages: Adult


Fee with Member Discount: FREE

You may also like:

Exhibit Dates Friday, June 28 – Sunday, July 14
Reception Friday, July 12, 6:00pm – 8:00pm (lecture by Ken Smith at 5:00pm with reception to follow)
Lecture Series: 

JULY 2, 5:00pm – Tom Moran, Chief Curator, Grounds for Sculpture

JULY 6 at 5:00pm – Nora Lawrence, Senior Curator, Storm King Art Center (followed by sunset cocktails)

JULY 12 at 5:00pm – Ken Smith, Principal Landscape Architect, Ken Smith Workshop

In the spring and summer of 1969, Phillips M. Simkin, who taught painting classes at the LBIF, curated an exhibition at the LBIF. He invited a stellar group of artists who were at the forefront of what became known as the Earthworks movement. Many of these Earthworks artists were in the early stages of their illustrious artistic careers at the time that the exhibit at the LBIF was taking place. That exhibit included the following artists: Robert Smithson, Bill Bollinger, Sol LeWitt, Christo, Richard Serra, Rafael Ferrer, Dennis Oppenheim, Hamish Fulton, Philip Glass, Michael Heizer, Peter Hutchinson, Will Insley, Robert Morris, Reiner Ruthenbeck, and Keith Sonnier.

In this year’s LandWorks, we have invited a talented group of contemporary artists whose work builds upon the foundations conceptualized by Earthworks artists. 50 years later, this exhibit connects the significance of these early artists to current themes that continue to influence contemporary art and the relationship to site-specific installation art, environmental subject matter, experimental mediums, and urban landscapes. Many artists place environmentalism at the forefront of their practice, each with unique involvements and interesting ways of addressing these concerns. Works shown will encompass both two and three dimensional work and will be on view in our gallery, on our grounds, and also shown as video presentations.

Participating artists include: Paula Scher, Martha Schwartz, Jane Barthès, Jason deCaires Taylor, Alejandro Duran, Ken Smith, Thomas Jackson, Letha Wilson, Darren Pearson, Nicole Dextras, Sunil Garg, Lily Reeves, Cristopher Cichocki, Javier Riera, and Reuben Wu. 

Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options